Navratri Celebrations Being Held in Karachi

Navratri Celebrations Being Held in Karachi
Navratri Celebrations Being Held in Karachi

Navratri Celebrations : Sharad Navratri, which means \”Nine Nights\” in Sanskrit, is the full name of Navratri. Navratri is a prominent Hindu celebration commemorating the divine feminine.

In Pakistan, where they are a minority, Hindus face harsh treatment, according to reports. However, there is a noticeable fervor for Navratri among Pakistan\’s small Hindu population. In Karachi, the largest metropolis in Pakistan, the festivities for this occasion are already underway. The information for this Hindu holiday is as follows:

Timeframe: 9 days

September through October (in Hinduism, it is Ashvin)

26 September until 5 October 2022

Navratri Karachi Pakistan

The goddess Durga\’s nine forms are honored at one of the most prominent and well-known holidays. After the arti and puja, prayers for shakti, or power, were offered. The celebrations continued till midnight. Following that, prasad was given out.

Worshipers wear clothing that matches the day\’s designated hue, which changes daily. On Vijayadashmi, which falls on the tenth day after a nine-night period, people celebrate the triumph of good over evil. Dussehra or Vijayadashami are other names for it. The following is a list of the colors, dates, and their significance:

Pakistan: Work Begins on First Hindu Temple in Islamabad 

Day 1 (26 September)

Color: Yellow (signifies happiness and cheerfulness)

Tithi: Ghatasthapana or Pratipada

Significance: On this day, people worship Durga in her Shailputri form, which she took after her father, the Mountain King Himavat.

Day 2 (27 September)

Color: Green (signifies nourishing qualities and aspects of nature)

Tithi: Dwitiya

Significance: Brahmacharini, the goddess Durga’s unmarried form, is revered and worshiped on this day.

Day 3 (28 September)

Color: Gray (denotes destruction of evil)

Tithi: Tritiya or Chaturthi

Significance: On this day, followers of the goddess Durga adore her in her Chandraghanta form.

Day 4 (29 September)

Color: Orange (symbolizes brightness, knowledge, and tranquility)

Tithi: Panchami

Significance: On this day, devotees worship the goddess Kushmanda.

Day 5 (30 September)

Color: White (denotes calm, peace, serenity and purity)

Tithi: Shashti.

Significance: Devotees on this day pray to Skanda Mata, the mother of Lord Kartikeya.

Day 6 (01 October)

Color: Red (symbolizes passion and anger)

Tithi: Saptami.

Significance: The Katyayani form of the goddess Durga is worshiped on this day by her devotees.

Day 7 (02 October)

Color: Blue

Tithi: Ashtami.

Significance: On this day, Kaalaratri is worshiped.

Day 8 (03 October) 

Color: Pink

Significance: Mahagauri is worshiped.

Day 9 (04 October)

Color: Purple (signifies admiration for the beauty of nature)

Significance: Siddhidhatri is worshiped.

Every evening, a different one of the nine manifestations of the Hindu goddess Durga is worshipped. She is renowned for her might, might, and ability to provide protection.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here